Registration

Today there were local events near Stafford and Hinckley but I decided to go most of the way to Aberystwyth to run on a hill called Banc Trawsnant. This was one of Mid-Wales Orienteers’ monthly league events, and I wanted to go over and say hi to some of the members. Back at the JK I was discussing the fact that Welsh areas are seriously underused, since when I’ve been in contact with Brian Hughes and Bill Marlow in order to work out how more events could be put on over the border. My conclusions are that:

1. Due to the low population in the Cambrian mountains, members of clubs such as HOC and WRE would need to help.

2. Due to the distances involved, the events need to be relatively important in order to get enough entries.

3. Due to environmental considerations and high fuel costs, (a) people should be persuaded to share transport, and (b) it’s better if more than one event is held at once, to increase convenience.

Croeso meets all these criteria, and any extension in the use of Welsh areas probably also needs to meet them all. Something like the JOK Chasing Sprint/Harvester Relays weekend fits the bill…

Back to today. It was a beautiful day and there was a good turnout. I ran the Medium course: 3.4 km, 170m of climb. I got around in 42:45, but three minutes of that were wasted when I convinced myself that I’d overshot the second control.

Photos

A slight panic on the way back: I got to Builth Wells and discovered the petrol station had run dry. The tourist information centre was closed, but a helpful? list of useful phone numbers in the window suggested the nearest alternative petrol station was in Crickhowell! Mobile phone to the rescue: Google found me the number of the petrol station in Kington, and when I rang it was a relief — for me at least — to be told that they didn’t have any diesel but they did have unleaded. Phew.

p.s. Well done to John Embrey who came home third on the longest course (21k) at today’s Long O on Cannock Chase.

