Good news – I passed the coaching course and once I get my first aid certificate I’ll be qualified. 🙂 The third and final day was wholly taken up with assessment. First there was a one-hour written exam. To pass this we had to get 80%+ on each of its three parts. Then there was the practical, and this is when the fun started. We were split into two groups, which in normal circumstances means two examiners are required, but since this course is new, several different examiners were with us, each assessing one or two people, in order to get their examiner qualification. And, naturally, we needed someone there to assess the trainee examiners, so there also a few people there to do just that. I did think of asking Hilary where the people were who should’ve been assessing the people who were assessing the assessors, but I kept my mouth shut…

I shan’t embarrass my examiner by naming him, but I admire his inscrutability. Perhaps he’s also a driving-test examiner? He watched my performance (it was a line-orienteering exercise on the school’s sports fields) and then took me back to the sports centre for a prolonged grilling. He showed no trace of emotion until he’d dotted all his i’s and j’s and was able to let me in on the good news.

I think everyone, or almost everyone, passed, so the whole activity was a very fruitful one for British Orienteering in general, and Yorkshire orienteering in particular. The sport needs coaches so, as a region, let’s have a target to run at least one coaching course in the West Midlands each year – that’s only ten people. 🙂

