It’ll be a kind of orienteering relay. There’ll be six “controls” on the plinth and six in the Square. I’ll do a course on the plinth, then a group of orienteers and members of the public will do the same course on the ground. Then I’ll do the next course on the plinth, and so on… The courses will spell out letters of the alphabet, and after the hour we’ll be able to use Routegadget and GPS tracking to see what we’ve been spelling out (if you can’t guess). I wonder how many letters we’ll get through? It rather depends on how fast you guys are round the Square. (I might end up doing my courses on my hands and knees but even so they should only take one minute each.) In the bits where I’m not “racing”, people in the Square can ring me on my mobile and see if they’re any good at following directions…

