Having just spent 12 hours in the company, one way or another, of West Bromwich, I feel that for ever more this date will be associated with that unsung town. First I drove and walked around to check the OpenStreetMap of the area – quite a challenge for one person, but I got half the job done – and to identify lampposts with hydrant signs on them, which I’ll be using as controls for Thursday’s event. Then I came home to fetch Catherine and we went to explore The Public, a somewhat infamous building I’ve heard plenty about but which I’d never set foot in. We had a good time and were even shown around some of The Non-Public (!) areas by the duty manager. Finally I’ve been editing the aforementioned OpenStreetMap via the interwebs, which has been made less easy by the fact that for some reason the text is displaying in Japanese…

