The details are now online for next week’s Park O afternoons. This morning I was at Friday’s venue: Rectory Park in Sutton. About time! I’ve never been there before and I’m running an event there next Friday…

The good news is that it’s a lovely little area, perhaps my current favourite among the five places we’re running round during the week. The map is one of John Mansfield’s, who did a lot of work for SOLOS and then COBOC back in the 90’s. It’s a nice map and not a lot has changed – there’s a funky new footpath between the car parks, and none of the sports pitches are marked on the ground any more – it’s just a shame that whoever overprinted it with the Permanent Orienteering Course couldn’t centre the circles properly.

I wonder when the last orienteering took place in Rectory Park? The ghostly permanent-course posts certainly have been out of use for some time: some of them are missing, some have their numbers removed and some were completely overgrown with ivy. I had a nice time looking for them and you will too. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

