I’m not as keen as I used to be about street races, mainly because my knees aren’t brilliant, but (Famous last words) they don’t seem too bad at the moment and I got round the recent Wordsley race okay. Did quite well, in fact. I don’t want to say this too loudly, in case next time they host an event hundreds of people turn up, but the post-race refreshments that Kerstin and Martin provided were excellent!

(I think I was the only person to go that way from control 7 to the finish.)

I’ve also been to two traditional night-O events lately, at Shire Oak and at Dudmaston. I didn’t set the forests alight but within the hour I found 18 controls at the former and 17 at the latter, and I’m feeling more confident with orienteering in the dark than I ever used to be. It’s good too that these events are so popular.

HOC night-O page

