I’ve been meaning to try BMF since they started in Birmingham (at Cannon Hill Park) 5 years ago. I need to improve my all-around fitness and did look into doing normal indoor circuit training but somehow I’ve never found something suitable. After Easter, when the snow had gone and the sun finally appeared, it was one of those now-or-never moments, and I went over to Boldmere Gate for my first session.

April 2013 004

I was made to feel welcome and it was a very good workout – an hour lasts a long time when you’re not very fit! I was very happy to be wearing a blue (beginners) bib and therefore only having to do half as many squat thrusts etc. as the experienced BMF-ers. The only criticism I have is that because you’re thrust straight into the routines, you have no time to learn how to do the exercises properly, and I did hurt my left triceps on my first go at a pull-up…

Still, I was back again in the sunshine this morning for some more punishment fun. A new exercise today was carrying/being carried on the back, the latter being a particularly weird experience…

