In the spirit of a previous double-header of a few years ago, I decided to do both Andy Hemsted’s Fibbersley event and Action Heart’s Baggeridge trail run last night. Google Maps assured me it was only 20 minutes between the two…

Unfortunately the rain had turned Fibbersley into a big green sponge so I got soaked very quickly. That, plus a few small mistakes, and the 3.7 km took me 50 minutes and it was 6.37 pm when I set off for my 7 pm start at Baggeridge. I have to say I would’ve made it if someone had been around in the car park to show me where to pick up my bib number. As it was, I had the unusual experience of cresting the brow of the hill to watch the start of my own race…

So maybe you should take 30 seconds off my time of 29:20. On the other hand, maybe I wouldn’t have run so fast if I hadn’t started at the back and had lots of people to catch up with. I’m also sure I’d have lost time if I’d had time to change out of my O shoes into my trainers. The O shoes were great for running down the muddy and slippy hills. (29 minutes isn’t great for 5 km, but there were a lot of climbs, and it’s better than the 33 minutes I managed at Clent.)

