The World Masters is taking place this week in and around Neuchâtel, Switzerland. Photos here. The long-distance final is tomorrow (Friday) and Andy Hemsted lines up in a tough field in the M60 class. The big event in Britain this month is the Lakes Week starting on the 22nd.

Meanwhile, I need to get running – I can feel my bones setting like concrete. Here’s what’s available. The events I’m thinking of going to are starred (but I could be persuaded to go to one or two of the others) – if you want to share a lift, I’m on 07792 049556. No voicemail, please.

Tuesday 10th: Lyth Hill (Shrewsbury)

Tuesday 10th: Loughborough*

Wednesday 11th: Ashorne (Warwick)

Sunday 15th: Biddulph

Tuesday 17th: Cannock Chase*

Tuesday 17th: Llanymynech (Oswestry)

Wednesday 18th: Kingsbury* (Sutton Coldfield)

Wednesday 18th: Oakham (Rutland)

Sunday 22nd: Suckley (Malvern – mountain-bike event)

Tuesday 24th: Twemlows (Market Drayton)

Tuesday 24th: Evington (Leicester)

Tuesday 31st: Shrewsbury*